Article Image

Google+ continues to sink with a second massive data breach. Abandon ship now

Google+ was scheduled to shut its doors in August 2019, but the second security breach in only a few months has caused the company to move its plan forward a few months. It might be a good idea to delete your account sooner than later.

Google had planned to close the Google+ social network in August 2019, but the date can’t come quickly enough: A second massive data breach was just revealed, only a few months after the previous. In a blog post by the Mountain View, California-based company, Google notes that the most recent breach has affected over 52.5 million users worldwide — that’s a significant chunk of individuals whose information now might be floating around on the web.

Google’s latest data breach has subjected over 100 times more users to an information leak when compared to its last data leak, which affected around 500,000 people. The data involved in the breach includes personal profile information and did not involve financial data or passwords. While a profile breach might be seen as less catastrophic of a system breach, the incident places serious concern around Google’s current security practices for the dying social network.

As a result of the breach, Google announced that it will shutter Google+ earlier than originally planned with a new final date of April 2019, four months ahead of its announced schedule. But why take the time and wait to have your data removed from Google’s servers? When a company loses your information twice in only a few months and subjects over 52.5 million folks to the incidents, it might be wise to abandon that ship — before you go down with it.

If you’re looking to delete your Google+ profile, follow these easy steps to get it done in minutes.

That’s it, your Google+ account and surrounding personal information are now deleted, and now only you can leak your own data to the web — not Google. Stay protected from these latest string of data breaches by staying one step ahead.

Did you think hitting delete on your AI chatbot conversation actually makes it disappear? Georgia Tech researchers just proved that's not entirely true. They have built a forensic tool called ORISA that can dig deleted conversations from your phone and even rebuild them into a working chatbot session you can keep talking to.

How can ORISA bring deleted AI conversations back?

Touchscreen laptops have been around for years. You can get them in all sizes and shapes. Just not from Apple. For years, the Cupertino giant has treated the idea of a touchscreen MacBook the way I treat a meeting that could have been an email: with open contempt. However, Wednesday looks like the day the company could finally change its mind. 

The latest Apple invite puts the “Pro and Tell” showcase in Los Angeles at 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET) on October 28, 2026. Instead of a regular live-streamed keynote, it is an invitation-only, hands-on event for a handful of press and creators (similar to what the company did for the MacBook Neo earlier this year). 

Two residents of Chicago have filed a lawsuit in the US over claims that robots run by Coco Robotics and Serve Robotics captured their facial and hand measurements without consent, bringing renewed attention to the food delivery robots. The cases raise a troubling question: If a robot delivers food to your door, can it also be gathering sensitive information about you?

According to a report by The Associated Press, the proposed class-action lawsuits were filed in Cook County on Oct. 9 and allege violations of Illinois’ Biometric Information Privacy Act. The complaints claim that the robots’ cameras and LiDAR sensors captured information on customers’ faces and hands as they approached the machines to pick up their orders. Both have denied the allegations.