Article Image

How to delete or deactivate a Slack account

Slack is a versatile space for work collaboration, but if it's time to say goodbye, you'll want to remove your account from the workspace: Here's how to do it.

Deactivating your Slack account is a good way to stop getting notifications or reminders from a service you no longer use -- though you can always delete it if you want a more permanent solution. Slack might be a great tool for work and socializing, but if you no longer need it, there's no harm in ditching it for something else.

Here's how to quickly and easily deactivate (or delete) your Slack account in just a few short steps.

PC, laptop, tablet, or smartphone

There are a number of reasons to stop using Slack, but if you're running into one of these common Slack problems, it might be worth trying to fix it first. Want to just delete a few Slack messages? We have a guide to that too.

Have your Slack login information ready before you begin. You can log in either to the web app or the desktop client — these steps should work for both.

Step 1: Find your Profile picture in the upper-right corner of your Slack window and select it.

Step 2: In the dropdown menu, select Profile.

Step 3: Select the Three-dot button under your profile, aka the More option.

Step 4: Select Account settings.

Step 5: You’ll then be taken to a new page with a variety of account info. Scroll down until you reach the button to Deactivate your account. Select it.

You’ll see that Slack gives you several important pieces of advice, including that you can contact the owner of this specific Slack workspace and request that they delete all your profile information entirely through their channels. If you want to fully remove your presence from this Slack, this is a good additional step to take when you’re done (more of the effects of deleting your account below).

Step 6: Confirm that you really do want to delete your account. Enter your account login and password again to finalize the choice. Your account will be immediately deactivated at this time.

If you are simply switching to a new email, you don’t have to delete your Slack account entirely. There’s a Settings option to effortlessly replace the current email you use in Slack without losing anything. Likewise, you can also change your username at any time.

Deactivating your account like this will only delete it from this particular Slack workspace. If you have multiple Slacks, your other Slack accounts will remain intact; it will not affect them. If you want to delete yourself from Slack entirely, you’ll have to do it one at a time.

The reason it’s called “deactivating” instead of deleting is that your messages and files will remain part of the Slack workspace. An administrator for that workplace can reinstate your account – if, say, you end up coming back for another project at a later time. However, if you want to delete your messages, here's how to clear our your Slack chatlog.

Slack can integrate with a variety of apps. If you have installed apps that work with Slack and then deactivate all your Slack accounts, those apps may no longer work, or at least not in the same way. Be prepared to log in a different way, or ask a Workspace Owner for specific allowances when it comes to apps that you’ll still need.

If you are a Primary Owner of a workspace, you can’t deactivate your account like this. For a workspace to exist, someone needs to be the Primary Owner. You will have to transfer Primary Ownership to another account or shut down the Slack space entirely.

Considering whether it’s worth it to stay with Slack? It’s always a good idea to examine your alternatives. Take a look at our guide on Slack versus Microsoft Teams to learn more.

Speech-to-text apps have flooded the App Store, making it easier than ever to type on our Macs with just our voice. I have previously covered one such app called TypeWhisper. However, there has been a dearth of good text-to-speech models, and most of the good ones are locked behind a subscription.

Ollama, an open-source app that lets you run local AI models on your computer, wants to change that. It works on macOS, Windows, and Linux, and your prompts are never stored or used for training. 

Did you think hitting delete on your AI chatbot conversation actually makes it disappear? Georgia Tech researchers just proved that's not entirely true. They have built a forensic tool called ORISA that can dig deleted conversations from your phone and even rebuild them into a working chatbot session you can keep talking to.

How can ORISA bring deleted AI conversations back?

Touchscreen laptops have been around for years. You can get them in all sizes and shapes. Just not from Apple. For years, the Cupertino giant has treated the idea of a touchscreen MacBook the way I treat a meeting that could have been an email: with open contempt. However, Wednesday looks like the day the company could finally change its mind. 

The latest Apple invite puts the “Pro and Tell” showcase in Los Angeles at 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET) on October 28, 2026. Instead of a regular live-streamed keynote, it is an invitation-only, hands-on event for a handful of press and creators (similar to what the company did for the MacBook Neo earlier this year).