Most web-connected devices have the convenient ability to remember Wi-Fi networks you connect to everyday, along with networks you only link to on occasion. Macs and MacBooks are no exception to this rule, but what do you do if you own one a macOS machine and want it to forget a Wi-Fi network? Simple: Manually remove it from your computer altogether.
Wiping Wi-Fi info from your Mac’s memory is an easy feat to pull off, and we’ve created this guide to help you through the process. We built our instructions around macOS Sonoma (the latest OS), but the steps should apply to most versions of macOS.
Step 1: To get things started, you’ll first want to launch System Settings.
Step 2: Select Wi-Fi from the left-hand column.
Step 3: If you’d like your Mac to forget the Wi-Fi network it’s currently connected to, click the Details button next to the network name. The Wi-Fi you’re currently paired to will be listed right at the top of the dashboard.
Step 4: In this next pop-up window, you’ll see the Forget This Network button on the bottom-left. Once you select this option, another pop-up will appear to inform you that any devices linked to this network via iCloud Keychain will no longer be supported.
Step 5: If you only want your Mac to stop automatically connecting to this Wi-Fi network (but you’d like it to remember it), you can simply toggle off the Automatically join this network slider at the top of this pop-up.
If you still want to manually forget the network, go ahead and click Remove.
Step 1: Back on the Wi-Fi dashboard, your Mac will detect and list all Wi-Fi networks it recognizes under the Known Networks header. If you’d like your Mac to forget one or all of these networks, click the More button (an ellipses) to the right of each Wi-Fi name.
Step 2: The Forget Network button should be the last option in this dropdown. Click it, and if you’re content with waving goodbye to this network, finish things off by clicking Remove.
Do this for every Wi-Fi network you’d like your Mac to forget.
Step 1: If you want to see a list of every Wi-Fi network your Mac has ever connected to, click Wi-Fi, scroll all the way to the bottom of the dashboard, and then click Advanced.
Step 2: To remove any of these logged networks from your Mac, just click the More button, then click Remove from List.
Speech-to-text apps have flooded the App Store, making it easier than ever to type on our Macs with just our voice. I have previously covered one such app called TypeWhisper. However, there has been a dearth of good text-to-speech models, and most of the good ones are locked behind a subscription.
Ollama, an open-source app that lets you run local AI models on your computer, wants to change that. It works on macOS, Windows, and Linux, and your prompts are never stored or used for training.
Did you think hitting delete on your AI chatbot conversation actually makes it disappear? Georgia Tech researchers just proved that's not entirely true. They have built a forensic tool called ORISA that can dig deleted conversations from your phone and even rebuild them into a working chatbot session you can keep talking to.
How can ORISA bring deleted AI conversations back?
Touchscreen laptops have been around for years. You can get them in all sizes and shapes. Just not from Apple. For years, the Cupertino giant has treated the idea of a touchscreen MacBook the way I treat a meeting that could have been an email: with open contempt. However, Wednesday looks like the day the company could finally change its mind.
The latest Apple invite puts the “Pro and Tell” showcase in Los Angeles at 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET) on October 28, 2026. Instead of a regular live-streamed keynote, it is an invitation-only, hands-on event for a handful of press and creators (similar to what the company did for the MacBook Neo earlier this year).