Article Image

Now you can take control of Facebook’s Safety Check during a disaster

Facebook's Safety Check will undergo testing to allow users to deploy it in times of large scale crisis. It has been activated by Facebook staff in the past for natural as well as "human" disasters.

Facebook’s Safety Check feature allows users to notify friends and family if they are safe in case of a natural disaster or terrorist attack. It has been turned on four times for the former, in connection with the Earthquakes in Afghanistan, Chile and Nepal, and the tropical storms in the Philippines and South Pacific. The Paris terrorist attacks in November marked the first time it was used for a “human disaster.” The feature has until now been run by company staff, but USA Today is reporting that the social media conglomerate is considering letting users take control.

Facebook will be testing a version that allows users to contact friends and loved ones and let them know they are safe, and also send invites to people in the area to perform a similar action. This could prove more efficient than having a team that may be located far away from the event report on the event. It also leaves the decision whether or not to even activate the system to the users who are on the ground going through the crisis.

“This way the community spreads the safety check and promotes it, instead of Facebook itself doing this top-down broadcast,” says Safety Check lead engineer Peter Cottle. “I think this is really exciting to have the community really be the ones. Talking about it triggers the initial prompt and then they check on their friends.”

When Facebook deployed the system during the Paris terrorist attacks, there was a backlash of questions regarding what the criteria are to do so. What about the bombings in Ankara, Turkey and Beirut, Lebanon? The degree of urgency, scale and scope of the crisis, and its duration, all come in to play, How will this affect the political and economical infrastructure of the area in question? How many people were directly affected?

“We care about all people equally, and we will work hard to help people suffering in as many of these situations as we can,” Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg posted in a comment after the Paris attacks.

Safety Check is easy to use, with one-click activation. Facebook itself notifies users in the affected area to update their status. These users can then in turn mark people in their network as safe. According to Facebook, over 1 billion people have gotten news that someone they know is safe since Safety Check was first used in December 2014, following Typhoon Ruby in the Philippines.

Instagram is testing a new format for long-form videos called Features. It allows select creators to upload horizontal videos running up to 90 minutes long. Instagram has already tested the new format with creators in Brazil, and now, it's expanding to tens of thousands of creators across the US.

How will Instagram's new Features format work?

Instagram is making its way to yet another screen, and this time, Apple TV is getting a taste of the Reels rabbit hole. The company has launched a dedicated Instagram app for Apple TV, bringing Reels, longer videos, and live shows to the big screen. So, if watching one quick clip on a phone somehow turns into an hour of scrolling, there's now a much larger screen for that.

Instagram brings Reels and more to Apple TV

I have lost count of how many times I have gone to bed thinking I will finally sleep on time, only to somehow end up scrolling Instagram or X again. A few minutes turn into an hour, then another, and before I notice, it is 2 or 3 a.m. The next morning, I am usually annoyed with myself because I could have just slept and felt considerably better for the day ahead.

It is also a surprisingly hard habit to beat. Knowing you should put the phone down does not always help once it is already in your hand. Brick Night is a new gadget built around that exact problem. Instead of relying on you to remember to turn on an app blocker, it automatically restricts selected apps and websites when your phone enters your chosen sleep space during the hours you set.