In an overly connected world, sometimes it’s nice to just sit back and enjoy yourself online without people constantly vying for your attention. But how do you make sure your friends and family can’t see if you’re on Facebook then, even if you are?
Here’s how to appear offline on the popular social media site, whether you’re trying to avoid unwanted attention or want to to scour your crush’s profile late at night without their knowledge.
If you’re already logged in, navigating to the site will automatically open your News Feed. If you aren’t signed in, enter your email address — or phone number — and password in the upper-right corner.
Click the grey gear icon located in the lower right of your screen, within the chat bar. Select the third option from the bottom, Turn Off Active Status.
Here, you can choose to turn off active status for all contacts, for all but a few, or only for a selected few. Choose whichever best applies to you and hit Okay to begin appearing offline.
Note: Once you’ve turned off your active status, Facebook will still show a “Last Online” tag next to your name within the chat module. This will count up from whenever you turned off your status.
If you are not logged in, you will prompted to do so.
Tap the three horizontal lines in the lower-right corner of your screen, and scroll down to the bottom of the resulting menu. Then, tap Settings & Privacy, followed by Settings.
Under the Privacy heading, about half way down the page, you’ll see an option for Active Status. This is how others know when you’re online. Click Active Status, and make sure to toggle it off.
Messenger is a separate app from the Facebook app on your phone, so to ensure that you are appearing completely offline, you’ll also need to turn off your active status here if you plan on using it while incognito. To do so, open the app and sign in if you haven’t already.
From the Home tab, tap your profile picture in the upper-left corner.
Near the top, there will a button labelled Active Status. Tap that, and make sure the option titled “Show when you’re active” is toggled off.
If you really don’t want to be bothered by certain people on Facebook, you can always block them. You won’t be able to send or receive messages from a blocked contact at all, and they won’t be able to see whether you’re active on Facebook. It’s a solution, but one that might be necessary if things are starting to look dire. To send or receive messages to a blocked contact, you’ll need to unblock them first.
Instagram is testing a new format for long-form videos called Features. It allows select creators to upload horizontal videos running up to 90 minutes long. Instagram has already tested the new format with creators in Brazil, and now, it's expanding to tens of thousands of creators across the US.
How will Instagram's new Features format work?
Instagram is making its way to yet another screen, and this time, Apple TV is getting a taste of the Reels rabbit hole. The company has launched a dedicated Instagram app for Apple TV, bringing Reels, longer videos, and live shows to the big screen. So, if watching one quick clip on a phone somehow turns into an hour of scrolling, there's now a much larger screen for that.
Instagram brings Reels and more to Apple TV
I have lost count of how many times I have gone to bed thinking I will finally sleep on time, only to somehow end up scrolling Instagram or X again. A few minutes turn into an hour, then another, and before I notice, it is 2 or 3 a.m. The next morning, I am usually annoyed with myself because I could have just slept and felt considerably better for the day ahead.
It is also a surprisingly hard habit to beat. Knowing you should put the phone down does not always help once it is already in your hand. Brick Night is a new gadget built around that exact problem. Instead of relying on you to remember to turn on an app blocker, it automatically restricts selected apps and websites when your phone enters your chosen sleep space during the hours you set.