Article Image

Twitter’s SMS two-factor authentication is having issues. Here’s how to switch methods

If recent reports have you worried that your SMS 2FA method will fail and leave you locked out of your Twitter account, here's how to switch to another method.

It might be a good idea to review and change your two-factor authentication options for Twitter. Elon Musk’s Twitter has another issue for its users to worry about.

Twitter has reportedly been having issues with its SMS two-factor authentication feature (2FA). According to Wired, beginning as early as this past weekend, some Twitter users have reported difficulties logging in to their Twitter accounts due to the app’s SMS 2FA feature not working properly. Essentially, the feature relies on the app sending users an authentication code via text message, which they can then enter as a second step in the login process.

But some users are saying that they are not receiving this code at all or that the code shows up hours later. And not getting the code is understandably worrying, because without it users with SMS 2FA enabled can’t log in to their accounts or access certain account features. This is also not a new problem as Twitter has grappled with it before. But it is concerning that the issue has come back during a time when Twitter is already struggling.

It’s also worth noting that not every user experienced this SMS 2FA issue. And Android Authority reported on Monday that the SMS 2FA feature was “starting to get fixed” and that some of the users who couldn’t use it are now able to. But if this recent hiccup has you worried that it could happen again, resulting in you being locked out of your account, you have another option to consider: changing your Twitter 2FA method. Here’s how to do it:

Step 1: From the homepage, select More.

Step 2: Then choose Settings and support > Settings and privacy.

Step 3: Select Security and account access > Security.

Step 4: Under the Two-factor authentication header, choose Two-factor authentication.

Step 5: Deselect the Text message option if you had it enabled. Then choose either of the two options left: Authentication app or Security key. Then follow the on-screen instructions to set up your new method.

Step 1: Open the main menu and select Settings & support > Settings and privacy.

Step 2: Choose Security and account access.

Step 4: In the Two-factor authentication section, select Two-factor authentication.

Step 5: Toggle off the Text message option if it was turned on. Then toggle on either of the two remaining options: Authentication app or Security key. Follow the on-screen instructions that appear to finish your setup.

Instagram is testing a new format for long-form videos called Features. It allows select creators to upload horizontal videos running up to 90 minutes long. Instagram has already tested the new format with creators in Brazil, and now, it's expanding to tens of thousands of creators across the US.

How will Instagram's new Features format work?

Instagram is making its way to yet another screen, and this time, Apple TV is getting a taste of the Reels rabbit hole. The company has launched a dedicated Instagram app for Apple TV, bringing Reels, longer videos, and live shows to the big screen. So, if watching one quick clip on a phone somehow turns into an hour of scrolling, there's now a much larger screen for that.

Instagram brings Reels and more to Apple TV

I have lost count of how many times I have gone to bed thinking I will finally sleep on time, only to somehow end up scrolling Instagram or X again. A few minutes turn into an hour, then another, and before I notice, it is 2 or 3 a.m. The next morning, I am usually annoyed with myself because I could have just slept and felt considerably better for the day ahead.

It is also a surprisingly hard habit to beat. Knowing you should put the phone down does not always help once it is already in your hand. Brick Night is a new gadget built around that exact problem. Instead of relying on you to remember to turn on an app blocker, it automatically restricts selected apps and websites when your phone enters your chosen sleep space during the hours you set.