Fifteen percent of American adults have used an online dating service at some point in their life to find love (or lust), according to Pew Research, with many turning to the now infamous dating/hookup app Tinder. By 2014 — just two years after its initial launch — Tinder had reached over 50 million users and was registering a billion “swipes” per day, and that number continues to grow. Tinder has transformed modern dating.
Sure, plenty of successful relationships and satisfying sexual encounters have come out of this app, but Tinder is not without its problems. From superficial encounters that value looks over personality, to problematic business practices, to a barrage of inappropriate messages and photos, some users might be looking to jump ship or try their luck at dating IRL.
Simply deleting the app won’t be enough to get rid of Tinder permanently, however, no matter what anyone has told you. If you’re ready to say goodbye to your matches and messages for good, you’ll need to delete your Tinder account. Here’s how:
Step 1. Open the app and tap the profile icon in the upper left-hand corner of the screen (it’s a small grey or pink bust). Select Settings from the resulting screen.
Step 2. Scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page and select Delete Account. You will need to scroll past the logout button, flame symbol, and version number of the app.
Step 3. Next, you will be give the option to pause your account (which will make it private to new matches, but maintain your information if you ever want to come back) or delete it. Select Delete My Account.
Step 4. The app will then prompt you to choose the reason for leaving, which includes having met someone or simply looking for a fresh start. Select whichever option best suits your situation.
Step 5. Depending on your selection, you may be prompted to provide additional information. Once you’ve entered this, click Submit & Delete Account. If you see the message “Account successfully deleted,” then you’re done! You may login again, of course, but you’ll need to create a new account — you just deleted yours, remember?
Note: If you subscribed to Tinder Plus or Tinder Gold through a third party, deleting your account doesn’t necessarily cancel your subscription. It may be necessary to cancel your Tinder subscription through the Apple Store or Google Play.
If you’ve already deleted the app, you have two choices: download the app again and follow the above instructions, or scroll down to learn how to delete your Tinder account using a web browser.
Step 1. Head over to Tinder’s website using your browser of choice, and enter your login information if you are not already logged in.
Step 2. Select My Profile next to your profile picture in the upper-left portion of the screen.
Step 3. Scroll down to the bottom of the menu on the left side of the screen. Select Delete My Account from the very bottom.
Once you’ve confirmed, you’ll be re-directed to the homepage, but there’s nothing else to do. You may login again with your phone number or Facebook account, but doing so will create a new account.
Note: If you subscribed to Tinder Plus or Tinder Gold through a third party, deleting your account doesn’t necessarily cancel your subscription. It may be necessary to cancel your Tinder subscription through the Apple Store or Google Play.
Looking to unplug even further? Check out our guides for deleting your Snapchat and deleting your Facebook accounts.
Instagram is testing a new format for long-form videos called Features. It allows select creators to upload horizontal videos running up to 90 minutes long. Instagram has already tested the new format with creators in Brazil, and now, it's expanding to tens of thousands of creators across the US.
How will Instagram's new Features format work?
Instagram is making its way to yet another screen, and this time, Apple TV is getting a taste of the Reels rabbit hole. The company has launched a dedicated Instagram app for Apple TV, bringing Reels, longer videos, and live shows to the big screen. So, if watching one quick clip on a phone somehow turns into an hour of scrolling, there's now a much larger screen for that.
Instagram brings Reels and more to Apple TV
I have lost count of how many times I have gone to bed thinking I will finally sleep on time, only to somehow end up scrolling Instagram or X again. A few minutes turn into an hour, then another, and before I notice, it is 2 or 3 a.m. The next morning, I am usually annoyed with myself because I could have just slept and felt considerably better for the day ahead.
It is also a surprisingly hard habit to beat. Knowing you should put the phone down does not always help once it is already in your hand. Brick Night is a new gadget built around that exact problem. Instead of relying on you to remember to turn on an app blocker, it automatically restricts selected apps and websites when your phone enters your chosen sleep space during the hours you set.