Article Image

JustDelete.me helps you wash away your digital life

Chances are, there are quite a few Internet-connected services that you no longer use, or just don't want. Now, thanks to a new directory called JustDelete.me, throwing out your garbage accounts has never been quicker or easier.

Deleting your unused or unwanted online accounts can be a giant pain – and, in some cases, is literally impossible. But a new Web directory, JustDelete.me, makes the process a little less daunting.

Launched last week by developer Robb Lewis and designed by Ed Poole, JustDelete.me provides a growing list of Internet-connected services, with links and information about the account deletion process. When available, direct links to account delete pages are provided. JustDelete.me also categorizes each service into “easy,” “medium,” “hard,” and “impossible,” depending on the difficulty of deleting an account from that service. The site also provides tidbits of information about account deletion for each service.

Google and Instagram, for example, both land in the “easy” category, since these companies only require that users login and opt to delete their accounts. Amazon, on the other hand, gets a “hard” tag due to the fact that you have to send an email to the company requesting to have your account deleted; JustDelete.me links directly to Amazon’s appropriate contact form for doing so.

Other services, like Craigslist and Evernote, land in the “impossible” category. Evernote only allows users to temporarily deactivate their accounts, notes JustDelete.me, while Craigslist offers no way for users to delete accounts, “not even by contacting support.”

In a post on his blog, Lewis says he came up with the idea for JustDelete.me after hearing how difficult it is to delete a Skype or Netflix account. 

JustDelete.me went live on August 19, with 16 services in its directory. The list has since grown to nearly 130 services, at the time of this writing. And fellow Web developer Mike Rogers created a Google Chrome extension to make the account deletion process even easier. 

Poole says he believes the booming popularity JustDelete.me has received – more than 500,000 page views in its first week – stems from growing discontent with Internet-connected services, in light of the recent revelations about NSA surveillance. The “honeymoon period” for the Web, says Poole, has ended.

“Five years ago, when things like Facebook and MySpace were still in their infancy, people didn’t see the harm in sharing their personal information,” said Poole in an email to Digital Trends. “Recently, with the drama surrounding the NSA and stories of large companies selling personal information, I think the public has realized we can’t just put anything online, as nobody really knows what information is ‘safe’ anymore.”

According to Poole, the creation of JustDelete.me has simply “emphasized how much online privacy and security is in the public consciousness.”

Updated with quotes from Ed Poole.

(Image via NOREBBO.com, all rights reserved)

A virtual private network (VPN) encrypts your internet traffic and routes it through a server run by the VPN provider. Websites see the VPN server’s IP address instead of yours, and you can get around geo-blocks, censorship, and ISP throttling. The best VPN services are paid, but there are still a handful of free options that do the job well. 

Most free VPNs come with a hidden cost, because running servers isn’t cheap and a company that doesn’t charge you has to make its money somewhere else. Many do so by logging your browsing activity and selling it to advertisers, while others flood you with ads and track you across apps. 

A stocked computer cache may be convenient for logging into and out of go-to sites in seconds flat, but a major buildup of these tracking codes could significantly impact your PC’s performance. If you’ve noticed that your PC has been running rather slow of late, or you’re using a new browser and don’t know how to clear its cache, we’ve got you covered with the following guide.

If you’re looking to clean up your Gmail inbox, but you don’t want to delete anything permanently, then choosing the archive option is your best bet. Whenever you archive an email, it is removed from your inbox folder while still remaining accessible. Here’s how to access any emails you have archived previously, as well as how to move such messages back to your regular inbox for fast access.